For the first time since 2006, Palestinians are set to go to the polls for legislative elections on 22 May, followed by a presidential election on 31 July. Holding and participating in free, fair and inclusive elections are one of the most important rights of the population in a democratic society.

As Members of the European Parliament, we welcome these upcoming elections in Palestine as we believe they can contribute to renewed democratic legitimacy of Palestinian political institutions as well as resumption of peace efforts aimed at finding a lasting peace between Israelis and Palestinians. To this end, the support of the EU is pivotal and on 8th February, the EEAS sent a formal request to Israel to allow access to the occupied Palestinian territory via Israel for an EU election observation exploratory mission.

Election observation missions are a key tool for EU democracy support activities worldwide. Moreover, as a leading donor to the Palestinian Authority, contributing to the stability and the security of Israel too, the EU must be able to have access to provide support and oversight. However, so far the Israeli authorities have failed to respond and are consequently hindering the EU's support of the electoral process and observation of the elections.

Preventing the EU from supporting democracy is unacceptable, no matter where it happens. As Members of the European Parliament, we urge Israel to honour the demand made by the EU and grant access to its election observation exploratory mission in order to support and observe the upcoming Palestinian elections.

On behalf of 57 Members of the European Parliament,

Ville Niinistö

Javier Nart Rosa D'Amato Margrete Auken Evin Incir Jordi Solé Michéle Rivasi Udo Bullmann Alice Bah Kuhnke **David Cormand**

Hilde Vautmans Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield Pär Holmgren

Sirpa Pietikänen Jakop Dalunde Pernando Barrena Marianne Vind Niels Fuglsang **Isabel Santos** Massimiliano Smeriglio

Saskia Bricmont Margarida Marques Sira Rego Alex Agius Saliba Milan Brglez

Aurore Lalucq Manu Pineda Maria Soraya Rodríguez Ramos Martina Michels

Irena Joveva

Mounir Satouri Sylvie Guillaume Billy Kelleher Tineke Strik Bernard Guetta Nikolaj Villumsen Pascal Durand François Alfonsi Giuliano Pisapia Grace O'Sullivan Marisa Matias Fabio Massimo Castaldo Alviina Almetsä Malin Biörk Chris MacManus César Luena Ernest Urtasun Johan Danielsson Karen Melchior José Gusmão

Nicolae Stefanuta Salima Yenbou Idoia Villanueva Ruiz Norbert Neuser Younous Omarjee Mohammed Chahim Márton Gyöngyösi